NSMQ2017 Finalists the journey thus far

After four weeks of exciting and nerve-wracking competitions, three former champions of the National Science & Maths Quiz have made it to this year’s grand finale as they aim at winning the coveted trophy and the bragging rights as champions of Science and Mathematics in Ghana.

The three finalists: Adisadel College; the defending champions, Prempeh College; three-time winners (1994, 1996, 2015) and St. Thomas Aquinas SHS; 2013 champions, all look forward to increasing their tally of wins by winning the 2017 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz.

The contestants of Adisadel College, Edward De-Graft Vanderpuije Quansah and Sylvanus Afful Assan-Annobil, are bent on retaining the trophy as the second school to win the competition back-to-back after Presbyterian Boys’ SHS did in 2008 and 2009.

Contestants for Adisadel College 2017 NSMQ

Wonder Sarfo-Ansah and Daniel Osei Badu, the Prempeh College contestants, are also relentless hoping to take their fourth trophy home. In the history of National Science & Maths Quiz, Prempeh College has been the second most successful after Presbyterian Boys’ SHS, a record they hope to break. Winning the 2017 edition of NSMQ thus, means a lot to them.

Contestants for Prempeh College

St. Thomas Aquinas SHS made history in 2013 as the first day school to have won the competition. The “Toms” are a force to be reckoned with going into this year’s finals considering their impressive perfomance in their contests so far. Bright Asiedu and Christopher Anamalia will be anticipating a second title not only for their school but also, increase the number of trophies to nine for the Greater Accra region.

Contestants for St. Thomas Aquinas SHS

Going into the 2017 National Science & Maths Quiz Grand Finale on Thursday, June 29, 2017 at the National Theatre, the stake is high as all three finalists are eager to win the coveted trophy.

This year’s finals transcends the rivalry among schools to regions as Adisadel College will be holding the fort for the Central Region whilst Prempeh College and St. Thomas Aquinas SHS will be battling for the pride of Ashanti and Greater Accra regions respectively.

As the hours turn into minutes and minutes into seconds, the entire nation of Ghana is yearning to know which school emerges as champions of the 2017 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz.

The 2017 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz is sponsored by the Ghana Education Service through the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS) and supported by Tigo, GOIL, Prudential Life Insurance, Accra College of Medicine and GCB Bank.

Below is the NSMQ2017 journey of our three finalists:


  1. Adisadel College 64

Nkroful Agric SHS 26

Suhum SHTS 24

  1. Prempeh College 49

St. Louis SHS 29

Toase SHS 22

  1. St. Thomas Aquinas 67

Juaso SHS 37

Bishop Herman College 34


  1. Adisadel College 50

Takoradi SHS 38

New Juaben SHS 40

  1. Prempeh College 82


Aduman SHS 31

  1. St. Thomas Aquinas 42

Nifa SHS 40

St. Hubert Sem. SHS 35


  1. Adisadel College 36

University Practice SHS 35

Ghana National College 27

  1. Prempeh College 55

Mfantsipim School 49

Mawuli School 43

  1. Thomas Aquinas 52

Presbyterian Boys’ SHS 39

Kumasi High School 28

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *