Prempeh College was crowned champions of the 2017 National Science & Maths Quiz after beating St. Thomas Aquinas SHS and Adisadel College at the grand finale held on June 29, 2017 at the National Theatre.

They pulled a total of 53 points to lift the coveted trophy and earn the bragging rights as champions of Science and Mathematics in Ghana. Their closest contender, St. Thomas Aquinas SHS, gave their all in the final round of the competition however, it was not enough to outdo Prempeh College. St. Thomas Aquinas SHS ended the competition with 51 points whilst Adisadel College placed third with 31 points.

Wonder Sarfo-Ansah and Daniel Osei Badu, Prempeh College contestants with their fourth trophy

Prempeh College has increased its number of trophies to four; winning the competition in 1994, 1996, 2015 and now 2017. They become the second most successful school in the history of the NSMQ behind five-time winners, Presbyterian Boys’ SHS.

Prempeh College started its NSMQ2017 campaign by eliminating St. Louis SHS and Toase SHS at the one-eighth stage to make it to the quarter-finals.

The champions then beat Ghana Secondary Technical School (GSTS) and Aduman SHS at the quarter-final stage. Mfantsipim School and Mawuli School fell prey to Prempeh College at the semi-finals ahead of the grand finale.

Prempeh College’s contestants, Wonder Sarfo-Ansah and Daniel Osei Badu maintained their composure and dominated the entire competition to win the nerve-wracking grand finale.

National threatre full to brim

Apart from winning the coveted trophy and earning the bragging rights, Prempeh College went away with a cash prize of GH¢40,000 to the school, GHS 15,000 to the team of contestants with teachers also receiving GHS 15,000. They also received packages from Tigo and GCB Bank among other sponsors.

Bright Asiedu & Christopher Animanlia, St. Thomas Aquinas SHS contestants

St. Thomas Aquinas SHS and Adisadel College were first and second runners-up of NSMQ2017 respectively. For their prize, St. Thomas Aquinas SHS received GHS 30,000, while the team of contestants and teachers received GHS 10,000 each. Adisadel College also received GHS 20,000, with the team of contestants and teachers receiving GHS 5,000 each.

Edward De-Graft Vanderjuije Quansah and Sylvester Afful Assan-Annobil, Adisadel College contestants


All six losing semifinalists also received GH₵10,000: GH₵5,000 to the school, GH₵2,500 to the contestants and GH₵2,500 to the teachers.

Zuweira Baba Mohammed of Tamale SHS was also awarded the Prof. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu Award for the Best Female Contestant, worth a cash prize of GH₵5,000.

Zuweira Baba Mohammed, NSMQ2017 outstanding female contestant with her colleague from Tamale SHS

The 2017 edition of the National Science & Maths Quiz was sponsored by the Ghana Education Service through the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS) and supported by Tigo, GOIL, Prudential Life Insurance, Accra College of Medicine and GCB Bank.

Leave a Reply